Why, 2K?!- “Tom Sawyer” But, Like, Not

The first decade of this millennium is often heralded as some sort of golden age for children’s films. Sure, most of Pixar’s best flicks came out in this period, and there were some winners in general, but I think people tend to view the films of their own childhood with rose-colored glasses. Most of these films are goddamn godawful. Just HOW goddamn godawful, you ask? Let’s find out together by checking out EVERY kids film between 2000 and 2009. From theatrical to direct-to-DVD to Disney Channel Original, we’ll look at ’em all because I am a glutton for punishment.

This week, two movies, one week, on it goes.

TOM SAWYER RUNNING MAN

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.10.40 AM

So once again I reach a movie that does not exist in any form I could find anywhere. Last time this happened, I picked a movie from the Google Play search results for the movie I was actually looking for but this time the first result was the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen movie and quite honestly fuck you if you think I’m gonna re-watch that.

So instead, I’m gonna take this time to give me an excuse to actually watch a movie off my Netflix queue. I’m a busy person, I never get to do that.

So we’re watching Running Man. Let’s go!

1359113849788838118the-running-man1

Running Man, based on a story Stephen King wrote under a pen name, is about a prisoner placed into a murderous game show and given an ultimatum: survive, and maybe get free. But you probably aren’t gonna survive.

But then, the dude challenged is Arnold Schwarzenegger so, like, I feel like we all know how this one is gonna turn out already. But that’s not why you’re watching, you’re watching for the all out murder party that is this movie.

And Richard Dawson. Him too.

18dxjoj8g0uurjpg1

This movie is so great. The Dawson brings it up in quality by a full three notches. If you somehow don’t know, Dawson was a huge deal game show host so having him host the Running Man show itself is absolutely perfect. It brings some slight grounding to the premise, which is goddamn ridiculous.

Also, it’s just pure 80s action funtimes. Give it a serious watch if you haven’t already. plus I am so damn happy I got to watch this instead of another fucking kids movie.

 

Leave a Reply

